JOIN FREE!
  << Back to the Index
OP Contact Card Symbol

Homeschooling

Alicia

I'm curious... do any other Mom's here homeschool their children?

How do you work your "lifestyle" change into your day?

Do you include your kids in it?

I've been homeschooling for 5 years now and I'm still trying to figure out how to fit exercise and "me" time into my day without getting up HOURS before they do or stay up HOURS after they go to bed.

Amber Replied:

I have homeschooled my children off and on through the years. My daughter intends to finish out her schooling at home so I have a few years left. I prefer to get up early, have "me" time, workout and make breakfast before waking up the kids. But if you don't want to do that, then I suggest a P.E. class in which you work out, and while you do the kids run laps around the house, or do push ups or whatever. Get them involved with you! And make eating healthy another "lesson" for them. Have them eat whatever healthy foods you are eating. And trust me, this is not easy, but in the long run they will be healthier adults for it. My kids often don't like healthy foods, and we have a rule that if they try it and don't like it, then they don't have to eat it. However, there are no "substitutes". Because if they know that they can have something different, they will hold out for you to cook them something else. It takes time and patience (ALOT OF PATIENCE) but eventually the kids will start to understand healthy eating. My daughter has gone many a nights without dinner because she didn't like it, but then eventually she would start eating the healthy foods because she knew there were no substitutes. Of course, it took many months just to get her used to new healthier foods.

Wishing you the best of luck!

Lisa as Intended (CE) Replied: